CF logo



All-in to the Ronde

Just six months after the exceptional autumn edition of 2020, the Ronde Van Vlaanderen returns to its original position on the calendar, on the first Sunday in April. However, the ban on public access to the cobbled sections is maintained as a preventive measure against possible COVID-19 infections, which will subtract a bit of spectacularity from the race.

As the suspension of the Paris-Roubaix is still to be ​​confirmed, the Ronde would become the only monument on cobblestones this spring, which will undoubtedly make all the riders to go all in for victory, since there would be no backup race.

Parcours men’s race

For this edition the race presents a route of 244 kilometers, with up to 19 bergs, the name given in Flemish to the traditional cobbled climbs in Belgian races. For the second year in a row, the race will not go through the spectacular Muur van Geraardsbergen, but it does feature up to three climbs of the Oude Kwaremont. Precisely, the chained final Oude Kwaremont -Paterberg, which is crowned with 14 kilometers to the finish line, has been repeated in recent years in the final kilometers, and will presumably be where the decisive attacks for victory will take place.

Favorites men’s race

Undoubtedly, Mathieu Van Der Poel (600), Wout Van Aert (1000) and Julian Alaphilippe (1200) start as clear favorites, although it is true that Alaphilippe has a big advantage, since the Deceunick - QuickStep presents its top classics team, with great specialists such as Yves Lampaert (600), Kasper Asgreen (800), Zdeněk Štybar (600) and Davide Ballerini (600). This numerical superiority can be key.

Other contenders are Peter Sagan (1200), Alberto Bettiol (400) Oliver Naesen (600), Greg Van Avermaet (800), Jasper Stuyven (600), Mads Pedersen (600), Stefan Küng (600), Matteo Trentin (800) , Alexander Kristoff (600), Michal Kwiatkowski (600), Tim Wellens (800), Dylan Van Baarle (400), Soren kragh Andersen (600), Tiesj Benoot (600), Michael Matthews (1000) and Anthony Turgis (400).

Parcours women’s race

135 kilometers and 9 bergs make up the women's event, which ends with the same route as the men's, with the duo Oude Kwaremont —Paterberg.

Favorites women’s race

Reigning champion Chantal Blaak (600) will be at the start to defend the title, and with her SD Worx presents a stellar team full of options for victory, with Anna Van Der Breggen (1200), Jolien D'Hoore (800) and Amy Pieters (1000) as the main assets. The other strong team will presumably be Trek - Segafredo, which arrives with three race winners: Elisa Longo Borghini (1000), Elisabeth Deignan (1000) and Ellen Van Dijk (800).

Other candidates are Annemiek Van Vleuten (1200), Marianne Vos (1200), Marta Bastianelli (800), Katarzyna Niewiadoma (1000), Cecile Uttrup Ludwig (1000), Lotte Kopecky (800), Lisa Brennauer (1000), Elisa Balsamo (800), Sarah Roy (800) and Grace Brown (400), among others.